Menu
Login


Live Webinars

The Chaos Theory of Careers

by Jim Bright

Tuesday, November 21/Wednesday November 22

We all know that careers can seem chaotic, but to really understand the Chaos Theory of Careers, we must turn to the world expert, Dr Jim Bright.  Dr Bright has developed a chaos and complexity-based theory that provides an account of the complexity of influences on career development, the nature of change and unplanned events, as well as the limiting factors and emerging patterns in individual careers. Data shows clients who receive CTC counseling report higher levels of career self-efficacy and greater satisfaction with the outcomes of the process compared to traditional approaches.

Please note the time of the webinar in your location:

Americas

Tuesday, Nov 21

Asia & Pacific

Wednesday, Nov 22

North America East Coast

9-10:30 PM

New Zealand

3 - 4:30 PM *

North America Central

8 -9:30 PM

South East Australia

1 – 2:30 PM*

North America Mountain

7 -8:30 PM

South Central Australia

12:30 – 2 PM *

North America Pacific

6 - 7:30 PM

Guam, North East Australia

12 – 1:30 PM

Hawaii

4 – 5:30 PM

Korea, Japan

11 AM - 12:30 PM

China, Taiwan, Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, Western Australia

10 -11:30 AM

Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Indonesia

9 -10:30 AM

Bangladesh, Kazakhstan

8 – 9:30 AM

India

7:30 – 9 AM

Pakistan

7 – 8:30 AM

* We believe this region is observing Daylight Savings Time

Cost:  $20 for members, $30 for non-members, $15 students

Click here to register

Dr Jim Bright is a Visiting Professor of Career Development at the University of Derby in the UK and a Professor of Career Education and Development in the School of Education at the Australian Catholic University (ACU) based in Sydney. Together with Prof. Robert Pryor, he developed the Chaos Theory of Careers which focuses on complexity, change and chance in career development. In addition, he is interested in applying chaos and complexity ideas to Leadership and has a long-standing interest in evidence-based job hunting advice.  He is a Fellow of the Australian Psychological Society (APS), of the Career Development Association of Australia (CDAA), and National Institute for Career Education and Counselling (NICEC,)and Lifetime Member of APCDA, and Member of NCDA. He is the author of 11 books translated into 10 different languages.



The HEROIC Mindset: Navigating a Lifetime of Transitions

by Rich Feller

Tuesday, December 12/Wednesday December 13

Without a HEROIC mindset, the Smart Machine Age leaves workers nervously employed and worried about becoming invisible. HEROIC is an acronym for six behaviors which can help you and your clients to stay focused on what really matters.  Using this acronym with clients can help them to live more fulfilling lives.  Two highly effective interventions (www.youscience.com and the Who You Are Matters! personal discovery game) will also be explained.

Please note the time of the webinar in your location:

Americas

Tuesday, Dec 12

Asia & Pacific

Wednesday, Dec 13

Eastern Time

9 -10:30 PM

Wellington *

3 - 4:30 PM *

Central Time

8 -9:30 PM

Sydney *

1 PM – 2:30 PM *

Mountain Time

7 -8:30 PM

Guam

12 - 1:30 PM

Pacific Time

6 - 7:30 PM

Tokyo, Seoul

11 AM - 12:30 PM

Taipei, Beijing, Singapore, Manila

10 -11:30 AM

Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam

9 -10:30 AM

Delhi

7:30 -9 AM

Karachi

7 – 8:30 AM

* We believe this region is observing Daylight Savings Time

Cost:  $20 for members, $30 for non-members, $15 students

Click here to register.

Rich Feller, PhD (www.richfeller.com), is Professor Emeritus of Counseling and Career Development and one of 12 University Distinguished Teaching Scholars at Colorado State University. He’s served as NCDA President, consultant to NASA, UN, NFL, AARP, and international and small organizations. Lead trainer for the JCTC Coach Certificate held by 8,000 coaches, he’s co-author of three books, six film series, and the Who You Are Matters! (www.onelifetools.com) game; Chief Scientist to www.youscience.com; thought leader for www.lifereimagined.org; US Director for the Asian Pacific Career Development Association; and Advisory Board Member for National University of Singapore’s Center for Future Ready Students http://nus.edu.sg/cfg/. He has consulted on six continents, all 50 US states and six Canadian provinces. Dick Bolles, author of the seminal bestseller What Color is Your Parachute?, called Rich, “A world-class professor.”




The Use of Metaphors in Career Development

by Norm Amundson

Monday, March 12/Tuesday, March 13

Story telling is an integral part of career development. A key component within stories are the metaphors being used by clients, counsellors and coaches. Metaphors encourage imagination, add clarity, and help to build understanding. In this presentation, he will be expanding on many of the themes (and metaphors) included in his book “Metaphor Making” and will be exploring the dynamics of metaphors and analogical reasoning. He also will be sharing some practical career development exercises that build upon metaphors and lead to greater self-awareness, clarity, and action. This session will be of interest to a broad range of career educators and practitioners.

Please note the time of the webinar in your location:

Americas

Tuesday, Mar 12

Asia & Pacific

Wednesday, Mar 13

Eastern Time

9 -10:30 PM *

Wellington *

2 - 3:30 PM *

Central Time

8 -9:30 PM *

Sydney *

12 PM – 1:30 PM *

Mountain Time

7 -8:30 PM *

Guam

11 AM - 12:30 PM

Pacific Time

6 - 7:30 PM *

Tokyo, Seoul

10 - 11:30 AM

Taipei, Beijing, Singapore, Manila

9 -10:30 AM

Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam

8 - 9:30 AM

Delhi

6:30 -8 AM

Karachi

6 – 7:30 AM

* We believe this region is observing Daylight Savings Time

Cost:  $20 for members, $30 for non-members, $15 students

Click here to register.

Norman Amundson, Ph.D. is a Full Professor in Counselling Psychology, Faculty of Education at the University of British Columbia, Canada. He has given numerous workshops and seminars and also has been a keynote speaker at many national and international conferences. In his writings, Dr Amundson emphasizes the importance of creativity, imagination, cultural awareness, positive affirmation and action as career development strategies. His publications include over 100 journal articles; training DVDs (Active Engagement in Action, 2009); books such as Active Engagement (2009, 3rd edition), The Essential Elements of Career Counseling (2014, 3rd edition), The Physics of Living (2003), Metaphor Making (2010), Career Flow: A Hope-Centered Approach to Career Development (2011), Hope-Filled Engagement (2011); Counseling Around the World (2013); and several career workbooks – Guiding Circles and Career Pathways. Dr Amundson has won many awards from professional associations for his work, including an honorary doctorate from the University of Umea, in Sweden.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software